Posted by: Rex Boyles | October 15, 2007

“On the road …”

In the last 5 days I have spent 24 hours driving. When you spend that much time “on the road”, you have lots of time to think. As I drove I noticed: the price of gas is too high, but the speed limit is too low. The number of “pitstops” I have to make are too many, but the number of clean restrooms where I stop are too few. The time I leave home in the morning is too early, but the time I get back home at night is too late. Staying awake, when I am alone is too hard, but dozing off at the wheel is just too easy. Even with a 150,000 miles on this one – a new car is too expensive, but time on the road – with time to think – priceless.

As I drove with all that time to think, I remembered: Driving with my children, when they were little. During those times, I tried to do what Moses taught daddies to do: “talk of these things when you sit at home or walk on the road … when you rise up in the morning … and when you lie at night”. I remember teaching David and Cheri about creation. We started simple: Who made the tree? the cow? the moon? Then we got harder: What day did God create the tree? the cow? the moon? I wanted them to know the facts – as a framework on which we could build their faith. It was on one of our many trips that Cheri gave me reason to believe that they were learning. As we drove toward Granny and Big Bill’s house on that long flat road, a thunderhead moved over the sun. The cloud was dark, but several sun beams found a way through. Cheri began to point and jabber. She had to repeat it several times before I was able to understand: “He’s talking to somebody.” I had no idea what she meant, so I asked, “Who’s talking to somebody.” In her little sweet voice she answered me, “God is.” Then it dawned on me … in all of the Bible Story books that we read to her and her brother, everytime God was talking to someone – there was a picture of a sunbeam. (For reference check out stories about Moses, Samuel, and Mary.) I started laughing and agreed, “Yes, baby, He is talking to somebody.” And at that time – it was me. (Thank you, Cheri. He still speaks to me through you.) 

I remember David, riding with me to and from youth rallies and workshops. We laughed and talked. I don’t know if there is another father and son, who have shared so much – learned from each other so much. Eventually, he began to drive me to and from those meetings. We have “fussed, cussed, and discussed” hours upon hours … miles upon miles. And today, if I had a chance, I would get in his truck with him headed for anywhere he chose – no matter how long – no matter how far. (Every trip was worth it, David, when you were with me.) 

As I drove with all that time to think, I planned: this time I will do it better. Today, I will be a better son to my mother and dad. They deserve so much better than I have ever I given them. Today, I will be a better husband to my wife. She deserves so much better than I have ever given her. Today, I will be a better father to my children. They deserve so much better than I have ever given them. Today, I will be a better friend to my friends. They deserve so much better than I have ever given them. Today, I will be a better brother to my Christian brothers and sisters. They deserve so much better than I have ever given them. Today, I will be a better disciple to my Lord Jesus. He deserves so much better than I have ever given Him.

May God help me … make it so.

p.s. If you have ever been on a road trip with me – I would love to hear your memories of the trip. Where we were going? What we were doing? Was there anything good about the trip – for you? (Posted several hours after the original post.)

Leave a Reply

Categories

