Posted by: Rex Boyles | October 27, 2007

Tag I’m it???

I have to tell you … whomever may be reading this … that I am not much of a blogger. I write here on occassion at the request of a friend. Before I began writing here … I never read blogs … never commented on blogs … never even lurked on blogs. But now I get this “Tag, you’re it!” blog thing. I asked some of my bloggy friends, and they say that I am supposed to do whatever it says to do. (I don’t know if that is really the blog rules – but being the compliant and submissive friend that I am 🙂 – here goes.   

“Here are the rules. 1)Each player starts with eight random facts/habits about themselves. (2) People who are tagged need to write a post on their own blog (about their eight things) and post these rules. (3) At the end of your blog, you need to choose eight people to get tagged and list their names. (4) Don’t forget to leave them a comment telling them they’re tagged, and to read your blog.” 

1.  I’m a Licensed Social Worker and am 6 weeks away from getting my Masters in Counseling. I have read books about Freud, Jung, Rogers, Glasser, Ellis, and even Dr. Phil; but I am still convinced that the best and greatest source of wisdom, regarding people and their issues, is the Bible. God made us – so it is reasonable that He would know what makes us “tick”. (Now that is such a boring item … maybe no one will read the rest of these “blogoids”, some of which – I was told are supposed to be embarrasing.)  

2.  I met President Bush, when he was still Governor of Texas. When I shook his hand, I forgot to call him Governor or Mr. Bush. Instead,  I grabbed his hand and said, “How are you George?” He just laughed and said, “I’m fine.”  (But now there are secret service men parked outside my house 24/7, and I think my phone is tapped.)

3. When I was in High School, I was the starting outside linebacker on defense for the Sudan Hornets. (I still know all the words to my school song and would be glad to send you a cd upon request.) The “game” name for my position was “MONSTER”, so before every play I set the defense by yelling “Monster Right” or “Monster Left”. It was the only part of my football career that ever embarrassed my mother. (Imagine her little Rex screaming that he was a monster!) 

4.  I haven’t thrown up since March 1970. I was a senior in high school. Since it was the first day of “track season”, several of us Sudan Hornets (School song available on podcasts) decided to skip the greasy school cafeteria food and eat a greasy cheeseburger at the local Dairy Bee. Well, needless to say, being the first day of track our Coach decided to make us run until we threw up – literally. Jerry, Larry, and I were all kneeling around the flag pole at Hornet Stadium … How do I say this delicately? … yakking … yawning in technicolor … blowing chunks … eating in reverse … giving heave offerings to the god of Barf. At that moment I pledged allegiance to the flag pole that I would never vomit again. I have kept that promise for 37 years, and that has become a part of my legacy to my family. (Even the g-kids know this story.)

5.  Through the years, I have baptized people in  church baptistries (church buildings that would seat thousands and some that would seat 50), a portable baptistry (at the Tulsa Workshop), a horse tank on a ranch in New Mexico, the Indian Ocean (on the beach in Bombay), a lake at a Christian Camp in Ohio (BAM, I remember.), a mountain stream at Blue Haven (coldest baptism ever – get the confession before you get in the water, because it takes your breathe away – and that is not symbolic expression), a bathtub in Canadian, Las Vegas swimming pool (I could tell you a story – but what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas!), and a jacuzzi at the “Open” Church (only church in town with a hot tub – God has added 12 new brothers and sisters to our family in this last year).

  6.  For anyone of you, who ever met me or knew me … if you have not seen me in the last 10 years or so … you would not recognize me – if you were to see me now. I have gotten old and fat. My hair is almost all completely gray, including my beard (which I grew for one of my last mission trips to the Ukraine). My weight is a source of some embarrassment to me – but not enough to make me quit eating Oreos with a cold glass of milk. I have taken to singing the Winnie the Pooh theme song: “I’m short and fat – and proud of that”.   

 7. But the absolute very best thing about me (except for being called, loved, and kept by Jesus) is my 4 favorite – wonderful – precious – intelligent – charming – smart – good – beautiful (girls) – handsome (guys) – terrific grandchildren. Brooke is 13 years old. She is beautiful. (I know you would expect me to say that – but you should see this girl.) She reminds me of what the Lord says about Esther – beautiful in form and feature. That she is … but she is more than that. She, like Esther, has that sense of purpose and courage. She is a remarkable young lady. She loves her Papa. Her brother, William Rex, is 10 years old. He is a handsome boy, looks just like his daddy at that age. But what you would notice about him – he is smart, fun, and funny. You should watch him play ball (any kind). I held him in my arms when he preached his first sermon – repeating after me – “God” – “Bible” – “Jesus”. (I love it when he leads singing at Church right before I preach. (Brooke and William are both remarkable children – raised that way by remarkable parents, David and Rebekah.) Titus Owen (that’s my middle name – and we are proud to share it) is 7 years old. Of course, he is handsome and smart; but what you would notice about him is his energy. When he was 1 year old, the doctors diagnosed him with cancer – the prognosis was not good, but God was (and is). Now he is cancer free and determined to live each day to the full. He squeezes all of the “juice” out of every day. His little sister, Lily, is 5 years old. She is our princess (and she doesn’t care which one: Cinderella, Snow White, Ariel, Belle, or any others you might name). She is pretty and smart; but what you would notice about her is her “joy”. She loves everybody – everything. She loves to laugh, but is not above dramatizing the slightest moment that she believes deserves some of Papa’s attention. She also loves to sing – usually her words and tunes. (Titus and Lily are also remarkable children – raised that way by remarkable parents – Cheri and Larry.)

8. I hate “green”, and since that was the color of the font this blog tag was typed in – I am not going to type any more.    

I tag: Ray Young, Justin Carroll, Doug Oakes, Dennis Wilson, Bart Kelley, Winnie the Pooh, David Boyles, and Cheri Smith.

Leave a Reply

Categories

