Posted by: Rex Boyles | November 9, 2007

“In the year …”

The text reads, “In the year King Uzziah died, I saw the Lord seated on a throne …”.

When there was reason for the prophet to grieve – the Almighty gave him a reason to “glory” at His presence.

When there was reason for the prophet to cry and confess, “Woe is me; I am ruined.” – the Almighty gave him reason to celebrate the cleansing that only comes through atonement.

When there was reason for the prophet to accept his new life (and lips) – the Almighty gave him reason to answer, “Here am I. Send me.”

I stand, for now, in the presence of the Almighty. The eyes of my heart – by faith – should be able to see Him seated on His throne, but too often I still visit at the grave of some past grief.

In the year that I betrayed my wife …

In the year that I sinned against the other family …

In the year that I was “put away for the cause of …”

In the year that I lost my reputation …

In the year that I damaged my favorite church …

In the year that I embarrassed my ex-students …

In the year that I destroyed my ministry …

In the year that I ruined my life …

The list can go on and on.

And while it is right – real – to acknowledge in the presence of the Holy and Almighty one – that I am unholy and ruined – it is also right – and just as real – to accept the atonement of the Redeemer. He is satisfied. My sins have been “paid for”. My soul has been cleansed. (Are you listening – Rex?)

So here I stand – humbled – honored. What else can I say? What else would I want to say? “Here am I. Send me.”

Holy Father – Almighty God – I do not ask for “pulpit jobs” … for invitations to speak at workshops or lectureships … for any recognition from any man … but, please – please – please – Merciful Master … speak hope through me … share cleansing through me … raise up spokesmen through me – to other “woe-filled” and “ruined” souls, like me.   

  

Leave a Reply

Categories

