Posted by: Rex Boyles | November 13, 2007

“It is always right to agree with God.”

I have gone to church all of my life … though I cannot claim that I listened (or worshiped) like I should have. I have gone to Bible classes all of my life … though I cannot claim that I learned all that I could have.

I have attended 2 Christian Universities (Colleges -back in the day) … though I cannot claim there is any reason that anyone there would consider me a notable alumnus. I have graduated from and taught in a school of preaching … though I cannot claim – given my broken relationships and public shame – that anyone there would acknowledge that as a legacy of honor.

I have read my Bible from Genesis to Maps more times than I can count … though I cannot claim that I really know God or even His will. I have memorized hundreds of verses, complete chapters, and even a few of the smaller books … though I cannot claim that I let the Word dwell in my heart, richly.

I am saying all of that – once again – to make sure that no one who reads these words mistakes me for an expert … for a spiritual man … for a wise counselor … or an insightful teacher. I am a sinner. My house collapsed when the storm hit it – and “great was the fall thereof”. I struggle every day to find those words from God that can help me rebuild my life.

It was in my search – early on in the days of my deepest shame with debilitating confusion and a damning despair – that God laid this phrase on my heart: “It is always right to agree with God.”

The summation of all of my church attendance … all of my Bible reading … all of my educational pursuits … all of my “spiritual” enlightenments … all of my memorizing … teaching … preaching: “It is always right to agree with God.”

It is impossible for me to describe to you – the light that was turned on by that truth – the clarity that came to my thoughts … the calmness that came to my heart … the soberness that came to my resolve. “It is always right to agree with God.” By that truth I have found direction – comfort – strength – purpose – and even passion.

 “It is always right to agree with God” …

Answers my questions …

Simplifies my decisions … 

Fortifies my resolve …

Influences my feelings …

Tempers my attitudes …

Directs my actions …

Restores my hope …

Protects my insecurities …

Motivates my good intentions …

Enlightens my insights …

Rebukes my enemies …

Nurtures my brothers …

Validates my existence …

Inspires my efforts …

Relieves my anxiety …

Purifies my motives …  

Channels my energies …

Controls my impulses …

Corrects my mistakes …

Sobers my judgments …

Reassures my heart …

Ignites my imagination …

Changes my life … every day … from what might have been (which will never be) – to what might be (what will surely be) by the working of His mighty power. I cannot feel it … cannot claim it … cannot begin to imagine all that it will be; but it will be – whatever He wants it to be. And I will agree … because it is always right to agree with God.   

Leave a Reply

Categories

