Posted by: Rex Boyles | November 21, 2007

“What do you say?”

Long before I heard the story of Pilgrims and Indians – re. that “First Thanksgiving” …

Long before I read in the Word from God – “… give thanks in all circumstances …”

I learned to say, “thank you”, from my mother and father … by what they said and did. They taught me to say it: “Say thank you.” They reminded me to say it: “What do you say?” They showed me to say it by saying it to each other everyday. I do not know how many times in my life I heard them (and hear it even now): “Thank you, honey pot.”

 So it came easy for me to say, “Thank you.” I take no credit for being more grateful than anyone else … being more observant than anyone else … or being more “spiritual” than anyone else. (Anyone who knows me … knows better than that.) But – due to my upbringing – it is natural for me to “give thanks”.

 So … I am going to say, “thank you”:

To M for choosing me …

To D & R and L & C for standing by me …

To GJJ and BB for holding onto me …  

To McK, L, & A for accepting me …

To T & O for including me …

To D for coming to reassure me …

To P for coming to find me …

To B & L for supporting me …

To B for feeding me …

To D & T & K for working with me …

To H for sending pictures to me …

To T & K for seeking for me …

To S for sharing her heart with me …

To those, who did not pass by on the other side, for binding up the broken and bruised heart in me …

To those, who did not refuse, for welcoming me …

To those, who confide in or seek counsel, for trusting me …  

To the Spirit for interceding for me …

To the Son for defending me …

To the Father for running to meet me …

To the OPEN for celebrating with me …  


Leave a comment

Categories