Posted by: Rex Boyles | November 22, 2007

“Giving thanks …”

16 Be joyful always; 17 pray continually; 18 give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.               (1 Thessalonians 5:16-18)

 I have read it several times … even preached it more than a few. It still says the same thing: “… give thanks in all circumstances …” 

There have been times – especially in these last several years – that I have found it not just difficult to do – not just next to impossible to do – but all but absurd to do. (This reflects only my weakness – not the graciousness of God.)

But today – November 22, 2007 – it is easy to “give thanks”. On this day – 62 years ago – a young man (just home from the war) and a young lady (just born-again in Jesus) stood before witnesses in the presence of God … exchanged vows … were made one, as husband and wife.

So today … I thank God for my mother and father. They are still holding hands and kissing … still keeping their vows … still living in the presence of God.

As I thank God for their union, I also ask God to bless my son and his wife … my daughter and her husband … that their marriages will reflect the same delight in each other and devotion to each other that they have seen in my mother and father.

And may He work in the lives of my grandchildren, Brooke, William, Titus and Lily – to bring them mates, who will love them … enjoy them … respect them … protect them … cherish them … nourish them … until death do them part.  

May God also bless my bonus children – that they will find or be found by mates that will make such unions with them.

Leave a Reply

Categories

