Posted by: Rex Boyles | December 26, 2007

“It was the day that …”

December 26, 1963 – was a Thursday, and we went to “prayer meeting” that night. (Our elders thought it best to reschedule our “midweek service” from Wednesday to Thursday, because of Christmas.)

I remember it – because it was the day that I was baptized.

It was the day that … Jesus kept His promise to save me (Mark 16:16).

It  was the day that … Jesus gave me new birth, born of water and the Spirit (John 3:3-5).

It was the day that … Jesus forgave my sins and gave me the gift of His Spirit (Acts 2:38).

It was the day that … Jesus washed away my sins (Acts 22:16).

It was the day that … Jesus gave me a new life (Romans 6:3-4).

It was the day that … Jesus set me from sin to become a slave of righteousness (Romans 6:17-18).

It was the day that … Jesus baptized me into one body by the one Spirit (1Corinthians 12:13).

It was the day that … Jesus clothed me as a son of God (Galatians 3:26-27).

It was the day that … Jesus put off my sinful nature, circumcising my heart (Colossians 2:11-12).

It was the day that … Jesus saved me through the washing of rebirth and renewal by the Spirit (Titus 3:5).

It was the day that … Jesus saved me and answered my prayer for a new conscience (1Peter 3:21).

 Therefore, I thank the Father, who created me in Christ Jesus; the Son, who gave up His life so that I could live; and the Spirit, who sealed my inheritance … for my mother, who introduced me to Jesus in word and deed … for my father, who showed me a man’s way in life and love for my mother … and for my brothers, who obeyed first and gave me an example to follow.

Leave a Reply

Categories

