Posted by: Rex Boyles | April 19, 2008

“… like a lily among thorns …”

On April 19, 2002, Lily Jo Taylor Smith was born to Larry and Cheri Smith. (I was there, because I am her Papa.)

She bears the name “Smith”, because that is her father’s family name … an honorable name with a repuation of hard work, family loyalty, and devotion to the Lord’s Church. (I am proud of the woman she will become as she lives up to her family name.)

She also bears the name “Jo” and “Taylor”, because her mother loves her grandmother and her father loves his grandmother.  I know nothing really of the gracious lady from whom she received the name “Taylor”, but I do know something of the fruit she bore in her family … and may her namesake so influence her family. I know a great deal about the worthy woman from whom she received the name “Jo”. She is my mother, and I can see a portion of her spirit in my granddaughter. They both are filled with joy and live their lives with a sense of wonder and delight for others. May Lily Jo hold on to her grandmother’s fire and fun … but may she also develop Granny Jo Jo’s abiding faith and share it with her children – grandchildren – great-granchildren for generations to come. 

I do not know all of the reasons that her parents gave her the name, “Lily”, but it was the name of her great-great grandmother (my father’s mother) – a gracious and gentle woman … and it is also among my favorite all-time names for girls and perfect for my propensity to use nicknames; e.g., “Lily Pepper” (as in chili pepper) – “Silly Lily” (obvious when you hear her laugh) – “Lily Hammer” (someplace they had the Olympics) – “Lily Jo Jo” (when she is acting like her Granny Jo Jo which is often) – “Lily Girl” (as in little girl).

But I know my daughter, so I cannot imagine that she would name her daughter, “Lily” (especially with that spelling), without having considered the Lord’s favor for that word (or name).

Song of Songs 2:2 –“Like a lily among thorns is my darling among the maidens.”

My Lily is destined to be a lily among thorns. She has a physical beauty … a delicate build … and a pleasantness that befit her name, but she also has a grit – a fortitude – a sense of identity – to “bloom” wherever she is planted. 

Hosea 14:5 – “I will be like the dew to Israel; he will blossom like a lily.”

The Father has been “dew” to Lily’s family, as well … and Lily will “blossom”. She is already “blooming” in wisdom and stature and in favor with God and man. Her delight in life reflects the wisdom God grants all children. She carries herself with a sense of identity and inevitability that she will be loved and accepted as God made her – “wonderful and precious”.      

Matthew 6:28-30, “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the lilies of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. 29 Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these.”

 The splendor of Solomon does not compare with the splendor of the lilies. Splendor is the appropriate word for my Lily. Her splendor has nothing to do with expensive clothes or haughty airs. Her splendor is in the spark of life with which God created her … the atmosphere of love in which she lives and from which she shares … the irrepressible spirit with which she faces each day … to bloom like her mother – to take care of her daddy – and to “save the day” with her big brother.

I love you, my Lily.     

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

