Posted by: Rex Boyles | May 2, 2008

“… the day of my birth …”

After this, Job opened his mouth and cursed the day of his birth. 2 He said: 3 “May the day of my birth perish, and the night it was said, ‘A boy is born!’ 4 That day-may it turn to darkness; may God above not care about it; may no light shine upon it.” (Job 3:1-4; NIV)

I have never suffered in the way Job suffered … nor to the extent to which he suffered. So … if Job was not justified in “cursing” the day of his birth … I would have far less justification.

But on this day … the day of my birth – 56 years ago – I must be honest, that there have been times that I have wondered, if “things” would have been better – if I had never been born … or if, at least, I had died before I shamed my Lord and family as I did some 8 years ago. But …

I count the Lord as good … for giving me life and the life of those I love.

I count the Lord as sovereign … for determining that I am still alive.

I count the Lord as merciful … for giving me a new life once and again and again …

I count the Lord as gracious … for welcoming me home – to the place where I belong.

I count the Lord as powerful … for perfecting His power through my weakness.

I count the Lord as almighty … for building a holy temple of broken stones, like me. 

I count the Lord as God …

Therefore, I will question neither His love or power on this day … the day of my birth.

Leave a Reply

Categories

