Posted by: Rex Boyles | June 18, 2008

“I’m sorry.” – “Me, too!”

(Of course, I will not tell you the who or the where … but over the last few days I have heard from a Christian sister, whom I have known for 15+ years. What you will read are excerpts from her emails to me and some of my response. I post them here to encourage any or all of us – if there is any relationship that has become strained due to their sins or even your own – to find a way to contact them … to either welcome the prodigal home or to invite the former “elder brother” (or sister) to celebrate with you and the rest of us prodigals.)
EMAIL #2: “Ya know Rex, I don’t know so much about what you did or didn’t do. I don’t need to know. I had heard that you went off the deep end and from experiences of knowing too much about some other people I care about I decided that no details was better. For a time I wrote you onto my mental list of people that disappoint me. As I grow older that list means less and less to me. I’ve learned that God is the only one that will never leave, never disappoint, never turn His back… And people are people, and they do stupid things. I can’t judge; I have no right. I do stupid things too … we all do to varying degrees. The glory in it is that we can be forgiven by the only one that really matters.”
EMAIL #3: “One more thing that’s been bothering me… I have to say I’m sorry. When I heard you were in trouble … I kind of wrote you off. I have had so many people in teacher/preacher/authoritative positions in my life that have done shameful things that when I heard about you I just added you to the list. I didn’t try and help, not that I could have, but I just sat back and didn’t do anything. I’m sorry. I was wrong. Forgive me.”
p.s. I would love to hear more about your church, it sounds like a wonderful, healing kind of place. A place of second chances. I personally think it sounds wonderful.”

From Rex:
Now … about your apology. I am sorry, too. But I accept your apology. And I forgive you, though I did not know what you did or thought. Thank you for writing me … for letting me know that you love me – even now. When my shame splattered on the brotherhood’s consciousness – it hurt so much to see how friends and “brothers” reacted. I did not blame them … because I was so ashamed, and I knew that I deserved to die for my sin … but it hurt anyway for people that I thought loved me to treat me as an enemy – attacking me, trying to hurt me and get others to join them. Then there were people who just acted like they didn’t know me … but thank God there were some that sought me out – cried with me – helped me hang on until I could get back on my feet. I will never forget them … and I will thank God for them forever. And there are some others … who, like you, have found a way to contact me – to reassure me that even though my shamefulness was a disappointment – that they forgive me and pray for me. Thank you … thank you … thank you!!! Your emails have been a gift from God to me … so I thank you … and I thank God too.”  Rex
P.S. You are right about the church!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

