Posted by: Rex Boyles | August 17, 2008

“On hearing this …”

On hearing this, they were baptized into the name of the Lord Jesus” (Acts 19:5; NIV).

I will let you read and study the words from God on this matter … and you draw your own conclusions.

But I saw this same thing happen on Wednesday night ( 08.13.08 ) – at about 10:20p.

Ricky Pool believes in Jesus – just like the men in Acts 19, did. He also had been baptized – just like they had been. And when he learned about the baptism that Jesus commands, he was baptized into the name of the Lord Jesus – just like they were.

It is not so important – now – what Ricky had been taught before or why … for what really matters is that when Ricky learned the “way of God more adequately” (Acts 18:26; NIV), he obeyed Jesus.

He could have said, “I have already done that.” … but he didn’t. He just obeyed Jesus.

He could have said, “My pastor didn’t teach me that.” … but he didn’t. He just obeyed Jesus.

He could have said, “Ya’ll don’t have music.” … but he didn’t. He just obeyed Jesus.

He could have said, “Ya’ll don’t have a real church building.” … but he didn’t. He just obeyed Jesus.

He could have said, “I am never coming back here again.” … but he didn’t. He just obeyed Jesus. 

I have more to say about this new brother and his family – but I will save that for another time. But please help me welcome Ricky into the family of God.

p.s. Ricky did ask me … “Why would they have taught me something that wasn’t the truth?” My answer was honest but just as confounded: “I don’t know.” I am coming to believe that we are more interested in protecting our “traditions” or “territories” than in teaching the truth. Are we too dogmatic to believe that we cannot just teach people about Jesus and believe that they will fall in love with Him? Are we too afraid to let people just ask the question – that sinners have been asking since Pentecost – “What shall I do to be saved?” Are we too religious to just let Jesus answer that question – without comment or commentary?


Leave a comment

Categories