Posted by: Rex Boyles | December 24, 2008

“Merry Christmas, Sinners.”

And there were shepherds living out in the fields nearby, keeping watch over their flocks at night. 9 An angel of the Lord appeared to them, and the glory of the Lord shone around them, and they were terrified. 10 But the angel said to them, “Do not be afraid. I bring you good news of great joy that will be for all the people. 11 Today in the town of David a Savior has been born to you; he is Christ the Lord. 12 This will be a sign to you: You will find a baby wrapped in cloths and lying in a manger.”  (Luke 2:8-12, NIV)

I do not know what day Jesus was born … but I am grateful that so many in the world have found a day to celebrate His birth.

I do not know how many wise men came from afar to worship Him … but it would make sense that any wise man, who came that far, would bring a gift.

I do not know if the cattle were lowing (but since that is what cattle do, I would assume that would be the case) … but I would be surprised at any baby that “no crying he makes”.

I do not know just how silent the night was with angels singing … with shepherds worshiping … with a baby crying … (and yes, those cattle lowing) … but it was a holy night. (Pretty sure, too, that Mary would not have let any little drummer boy bang on his drums while she was trying to put her baby to sleep.)

I do not know if He was born in a barn … a stable … or a cave that served as a stable … but I know that there was no room for Him at the Inn and His first crib was a manger.  

There are many things I do not know about that day … but I do know that He was born to be a Savior. And if He was born to be a Savior … that would imply that He was born … for sinners.

Merry Christmas to you and yours … from this sinner.

Leave a Reply

Categories

