Posted by: Rex Boyles | January 1, 2015

SOMETHING “NEW” IN THE NEW YEAR

I wasn’t very old – the first time I celebrated on New Year’s Eve to ring in the New Year. My mother and dad were already in bed … and so were my brothers. I sat alone – watching our black and white TV (the only one we had in the house) – waiting for “the ball to drop” (the one at Times Square).

I was tired, and it was cold. I was already dressed for bed (which meant I was sitting in my underwear); but I had one sparkler left – so I was not going to miss my chance at doing what I had seen people do on television: shout “Happy New Year” and set off fireworks.

Finally, it happened. Our cuckoo clock “struck” (or cuckooed) midnight. I jumped up … ran outside (in my underwear) … yelled my welcome to the New Year … lit my sparkler (which took a hand full of kitchen matches) – waved it around … all the while shivering on the front porch.

After the “celebration” – I ran back inside and jumped in my warm bed. Just before I fell asleep, this thought occurred to me: “What’s so new about New Year?”

I know the calendar changes. I have turned the page on several since that “first” New Year’s celebration. I know that I have to write a different number on checks and other documents. I know that I have to start my exercises again … cut back on sweets … save more money … read my Bible more … just like every New Year.

But what really changes? What’s so “new”?

I am what’s “new” … not because I turn some page on the calendar … not because I change my diet (even if for just a few days) … not because I resolve to try harder or even do better.

I am “new” … because the “mercies of God” are “new every morning”[i].

I am “new” … because I have been “given a new birth into a living hope”[ii].

I am “new” … because I have been created in Christ a “new creation”[iii].

I am “new” … because I have been “raised to live a new life”[iv].

I am “new” … because I have been given access by a “new and living way”[v].

Therefore, in this “new year” … with God’s help:

I will “crave pure spiritual milk” like a “newborn” baby[vi].

I will “put on the new self, created to be like God”[vii].

I will be “transformed by the renewing” of my mind[viii].

I will “serve in the new way of the Spirit”[ix].

I will look “forward to a new heaven and new earth”[x].

[i] Lamentations 3

[ii] 1 Peter 1

[iii] 2 Corinthians 5

[iv] Romans 6

[v] Hebrews 10

[vi] 1 Peter 2

[vii] Ephesians 4

[viii] Romans 12

[ix] Romans 7

[x] 2 Peter 3

Responses

  1. Good to “hear” you again in this space, brother, as well as sharing your “Daily Bread” with us again as well. God bless you in this New Year!


Leave a Reply

Categories

